Judges For the 2015 Contests:

Poetry: Eduardo C. Corral is the author of Slow Lightning, winner of the 2011 Yale Series of Younger Poets competition. He is the recipient of a Whiting Writers’ Award and a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship. He teaches in the low-residency MFA program at Pacific University.

Flash Fiction: Tope Folarin is a Nigerian writer and the winner of the 2013 Caine Prize for African Writing, received in recognition of his short story “Miracle.” Tope Folarin is the recipient of writing fellowships from the Institute for Policy Studies and Callaloo, and he serves on the board of the Hurston/Wright Foundation.

Fiction: Jacinda Townsend is the author of Saint Monkey (Norton, 2014). She has been a Fulbright fellow to Côte d’Ivoire and has taught at universities throughout the Midwest. Her short fiction and nonfiction appear widely in magazines and anthologies. She is mom to two beautiful children.

2014 Award Winners

ON SQU is proud to announce the 2014 Washington Square Review Award recipients:

Fiction (selected by Charles D’ambrosio): Jill Birdsall “Free Parking”

Jill Birdsall’s fiction is widely published with journals including Alaska Quarterly Review, American Fiction, and Iowa Review. Recent fiction awards include Eckleburg’s Gertrude Stein Award and Potomac Review’s Short Fiction Award. Jill has completed a short story collection called Salvage, and is at work on a novel set in Sea Bright, New Jersey. She earned an MFA from Columbia University. To read more, visit www.jillbirdsall.com.

Flash Fiction (selected by Victoria Redel): Wil Weitzel “The Gardens of Dar es Salaam”

Wil Weitzel’s fiction has appeared or is forthcoming in Chautauqua, Conjunctions, New Orleans Review, Southwest Review, The Kenyon Review, and elsewhere. Wil is the recipient of a 2014 NYC Emerging Writers Fellowship at the Center for Fiction in Manhattan and is currently at work on a novel set in the Hindu Kush Range of northern Pakistan.

Poetry (selected by D.A. Powell): Leslie Marie Aguilar “The Hitching Post”

Leslie Marie Aguilar was born and raised in Abilene, Texas. She has served as the Poetry Editor of Harbinger Journal of Literature and Art and is the current Poetry Editor of Indiana Review. She is also the recipient of a National Society of Arts and Letters Literature Award. Her poems have appeared or are forthcoming in Bellingham Review, Hotel Amerika, Iron Horse Literary Journal, Ninth Letter, Rattle, and Spillway among others. She is currently an MFA candidate at Indiana University.

Big congratulations to the winners, and thanks to all those who participated!

Guidelines for the 2015 contest are forthcoming early December!

3 Responses to “Awards”

  1. […] The Hollins Critic, In Posse Review, Prairie Schooner, RHINO and Subtropics. She has received a Washington Square award, James Still and Thomas Merton poetry prizes and individual artist grants from Maryland and […]

  2. […] all of the above sounds like you, then don’t hesitate — send your writing to Washington Square!  Here are the […]

  3. […] The Signal. In addition to the Feldman prize, she has received awards from H.O.W. Journal, Washington Square Review, Thomas Merton Institute and  Appalachian Writers Association. Her work has been supported by […]